West Yorkshire X-Country – Keighley (final standings)

City of York AC’s Angus McMillan was crowned West Yorkshire Cross Country League under 20 men’s champion after victory in the final round at Keighley.
Despite being in his first season of senior competition, 17-year-old McMillan proved more than a match for his older rivals in the snowy conditions.
And having also won rounds two and three, he took the spoils in style. Although the league does not award an overall men’s title, instead listing champions in age groups, McMillan would have comfortably taken that honour as well. With Finnian Hutchinson having already secured the under 15 boys’ championship and City of York’s men finishing third overall, this completed a very promising season for the club.

As has become his custom, McMillan ran with the leading group until the penultimate lap before pulling away to win by around 50 metres from Andrew Grant of Harrogate Harriers. McMillan completed the 7.7km course in 25mins 18secs, while Toby Fletcher (27-23) was the next City of York runner home in 13th place. Their efforts helped the club finish third in the men’s team standings behind champions Wakefield and Holmfirth.

Despite some strong performances in the earlier rounds, City of York could not complete a women’s team at Keighley, so were not placed in the final standings.

Already assured of the under 15 boys’ title, Hutchinson won his third race of the series. He clocked 15-21 for the 4.5km course to finish comfortably ahead of Keighley and Craven’s Harvey Lewis (15-34). Herbert Antcliff (15-50) and Thomas Hayes (16-29) came fourth and 10th respectively as City of York comfortably won the team prize.

Luca Parker led City of York’s under 17 boys’ home in seventh place with an 18-10 clocking for the 5.3km course. With good support from Toby Antcliff (18-46) and Kyle McLeay (18-51) in 10th and 11th respectively, the club finished second in the team standings.

City of York also secured top-10 finishes from Holly Moss (seventh, U15 girls), Benjamin Scurrah-Smyth (eighth, U11 boys), Edward Hanley (eighth, U13 boys) and Lottie Langan (ninth, U13 girls).

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.