Senior League Report (York) – A creditable 3rd place!

The club finished in a creditable third place on their return to North of England Track and Field League Division 1. Promoted from Division 2 last year, the club are now competing at their highest level since 2010, so it was vital they started well in this home fixture. And it was the women who led the way in the in blustery conditions, picking up 10 individual victories.

A well-contested fixture saw 2016 champions Wakefield Harriers take the spoils on 385 points, 17 ahead of West Cheshire. York finished on 363, 22 points ahead of fellow promoted club Wigan and District Harriers.

A consistent team display saw a good spread of podium finishes, but field eventer Christina Nick was York’s leading individual with three victories.
Christina won the A-String discus with a throw of 44.64m and took the shot putt honours in 13.13. She added a B-String hammer victory with 37.22.
Charlotte Stamp won a competitive women’s A-String women’s 400m race in 58.6secs and also finished first in the B-String 400m hurdles, recording 68.4.
Charlotte’s latter effort followed GB junior international Chelsea Walker’s dominant victory in the A-string race with a 61.0 clocking.
The 3,000m proved an equally strong event for York, with Charlotte Mason taking the main honours in 10mins 25.1secs and Emma Ballantyne (10.40.7) adding the B-String spoils. Ruth Brandon (62.4) and Lara Sterritt (5.24.2) completed York’s female winners tally with B-String success in the 400m and 1,500m respectively.

English Schools under 17 800m champion Alex Botterill produced the best performance for York’s men, taking the main 400m race by a full second in 49.5. Andrew England was the host club’s only other A-String victor, claiming the high jump in 1.70m. Tom Flatters made it a double by adding the B-String win in 1.65. Ben Schofield bagged York’s fourth and final men’s success in the B-String 400m hurdles where he clocked 68.7.

Match result: 1 Wakefield 6 league points (385 match points); 2 W Cheshire 5 (368); 3 York 4 (363); 4 Wigan 3 (341); 5 City of Sheffield 2 (315); 6 Preston 1 (288).

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.